Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric was awarded the 2018 Ballon d’Or on Monday, becoming the first player not named Lionel Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo to earn the honor since kaka in 2007. 

Modric won out, ahead of Ronaldo, Antoine Griezmann, Kylian Mbappe and Messi.

Chelsea star N’Golo Kante finished 11th in the award, with Brazilian star Neymar down in 12th.

France star Kylian Mbappe became the first ever winner of the Kopa Trophy for the best Under-21 player in the world.

The World Cup sensation received the award at the 2018 Ballon d’Or ceremony.

Ballon D’or Full list 

  1. Luka Modric
  2. Cristiano Ronaldo 
  3. Antonio Griezman 
  4. Kylian Mbapp
  5. Lionel Messi
  6. Mohamed Salah
  7. Raphael Varane
  8. Eden Hazard
  9. Kevin De Bruyne
  10. Harry Kane