Argentina and Colombia have been confirmed as co-hosts of Copa America 2020.

The two countries were officially named host nations on Tuesday by CONMEBOL, who earlier this year rejected a proposal from the United States.

In announcing the decision, CONMEBOL president Alejandro Dominguez said: “The central objective of this change is to provide more facilities to fans and to bring the matches of the national teams geographically to the South American public.

The fan will be able to enjoy at least five of his national team matches, which reinforces the spectacle and the sporting celebration.”

The Copa America will also be held in 2019, with Brazil hosting the event this summer four years after the 2015 tournament in Chile.

In 2016, a special edition of the Copa America was held in the United States, marking the tournament’s 100th anniversary.